Spring Roll Modifications for a Cold Day…

I was inspired to use up some surplus rice paper after seeing The Kitchn’s Butternut Squash “Winter” Rolls with Spicy Cranberry Sauce recipe. The concept of using these typically cold summery rolls for a warm and hearty meal was just what I needed during San Fracisco’s second heavy storm of the season.

The Nitty Gritty…

The filling was just baked tofu and a saute of kale, garlic, onion and mushroom. I used vegetarian stir fry sauce to season the vegetables and added a couple drops of fish sauce. Tip: The rice paper is a bit salty so don’t add too much sauce to your saute

I sliced the tofu into rectangular shapes and baked it at 400 for about 20 minutes. You could also fry up the slices if you want something with more crunch and texture. I didn’t season this at all and didn’t feel like I needed to because my veggies were pretty salty.

Assemblage: Since the veggies and tofu were pretty warm I didn’t need to soak the rice paper for too long. This part really boils down to trial and error – just start with a small amount of filling and work your way up.

Leave a Reply

