Welcome.

I like to eat good food but I’m also always broke – a difficult combination. I’ve lived in San Francisco’s Lower Haight for about five years so I know my neighborhood markets and restaurants pretty well.  Here’s what I’m going to write about: good food that caters to a slowing metabolism and occasional heart-hurting meals- all to fit my lazy and cheap sensibilities.

When I try to eat healthy I end up making the same thing over and over again. Then I get tired of it and eat a giant hamburger. This blog will be a record of what I eat so I don’t get bored and so I don’t forget. Hopefully you’ll pick up a few tricks along the way.

So here’s the first trick – Rechargeable Green Onions

I use green onions, or scallions if you want to be proper, in about 70% of what I cook so I was pretty stoked when I saw this in thekitchn.com. Having a garden is nearly impossible if you live in a poorly lit SF apartment so this little trick is pretty awesome in my book.

The picture on the left shows green onion stumps that grew for one week in a base of water, and green onion stumps one day after chopping them up on the right.

Leave a Reply

